The Robin Anderson Film Award

In association with the Robin Anderson Film Awards, Sydney Film School offers an annual one-year, full time scholarship to one lucky secondary school filmmaker (Years 11-12) to study in a Diploma of Screen and Media (CUA51015) Program.

Valued at $19,200, the Robin Anderson Scholarship covers all tuition fees, materials and equipment. The successful candidate must be prepared to commit to full time study of a 40 week long course.

An outstanding opportunity for a person passionate about making films to further their studies in a practical and educational filmmaking environment!

How to be eligible?

1. Make a short film (max 8 min) and enter it in the Robin Anderson Film Awards.
2. Have your film (documentary or drama) selected as a finalist in any senior section of the Robin Anderson Film Awards.

What then?

1. Every finalist film will be viewed by a panel of Sydney Film School staff;
2. A short list of finalists will be invited to an interview with Sydney Film School staff;
3. One short listed finalist will be offered the opportunity to take up the scholarship.

When is the Submission Deadline?

Entries are now closed for 2017

Have more questions?

For further information about the Robin Anderson Film Awards including the submission details and requirements please visit: or email

For further info about the Robin Anderson Scholarship offered by Sydney Film School email or call us on (02) 9698 2244.


Who has won the Scholarship?

Previous winners of the Robin Anderson Scholarship include:

1)    Maya Newell (2006)
2)    Jessica Sailah (2007)
3)    Emma Watkins (2008)
4)    Ben Wilson (2009)
5)    Aleksandra Popovic (2010)
6)    Emily Christison (2011)
7)    Julian Hartley (2012)
8)    Kate Cornish (2013)
9)    Sebastian Ulriksen (2014)

10) Olivia Eastwood (2015)

11) Veronika Taleski (2017)


Leslie Oliver congratulates the
4th Scholarship winner Ben Wilson

Kate Cornish (2013 Robin Anderson Scholar)
with Emma Watkins (2008 Robin Anderson Scholar)

Kate Cornish with Director of Education Kathryn Milliss and the 7th Scholarship winner Julian Hartley